Hot Apple Cider with Rum

It has been so cold lately.  I know it is winter, but it’s California!  Shouldn’t it be sunshine and 70 degrees everyday?  I actually live in the Bay Area so I have been getting used to the near constant scarf and jacket weather, but this winter feels much colder than the last.  That’s why I had to make something to warm up with for the holidays, and I came across Emeril’s recipe for Hot Apple Cider with Rum.  I tried it Christmas Eve and I am Really Into it – so much so that it will be making a reappearance this weekend for New Year’s Eve.  Be careful, this drink is DANGEROUS.  It tastes so good it is easy to have a few too many.

The recipe is pretty simple.  Start with a good quality store bought cider, add some fruit and spices, simmer, and then add RUM.

img_1506

I chose Martinell’s Apple Cider because it is one that I have been a fan of in the past.  Plus it comes in a pretty bottle.  I decided to make a double batch, so I put two of these in my big red pot.  After that I sliced two oranges and studded an apple with cloves, which I had never done before, but it looked really pretty. Seeee:

img_1433

Bonus: I finally got a manicure.  I added the oranges, apple, allspice, ground clove and nutmeg to my pot.  The recipe calls for brown sugar, but many reviewers said that was too sweet.  I opted to forgo the brown sugar and I am glad I did because it was plenty sweet on its own.  I brought it to a simmer very, very slowly.  It gave me a chance to get other things ready while my guests arrived and it made the house smell AMAZING.

img_1446

Instead of mixing the rum directly into the pot I decided to keep it on the side, that way anyone could enjoy the drink (we had a couple of little kiddos running around Christmas Eve).  I decided to use a dark, spicy rum and I went with one I was familiar with: Kraken.  It also comes in a pretty bottle (I am a sucker) and it has a really nice flavor.

img_1509

I put it out with some cinnamon sticks and coffee mugs so everyone could mix how they liked.

img_1508

This is such a nice, warm drink to put into your winter rotation.  I can’t wait to do it again this weekend!  Happy New Year!

7 thoughts on “Hot Apple Cider with Rum

  1. Patricia says:

    Oh I’m so trying this! My bf was looking over my shoulder and saw the Martineilli’s bottle and yelled Hey! Click on that I love Martinelli’s apple juice!!! I think he loves the bottle more than the juice but we do love that juice! I had never thought to put the cloves in the apple! Thanks for sharing this!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. B says:

    As a Canadian who is very, very chilly right now I definitely appreciate this post! I’m thinking about trying it this weekend when we’re due to get more snow. I love this blog! I’m looking forward to reading more about what you’re all Really Into!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

